ARCHIVES - posted on April 23, 2014 by

VARGA Issue Trailer For New Album Return Of The Metal


Posted on Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 01:45:33 EST

Hamilton, Ontario-based bashers VARGA, who released the first part of a two-part comeback album, Enter The Metal, on October 30th, 2013 have posted a trailer for part 2, Return Of The Metal.

The album will be released in May through the band’s own label, Vargantuan Music. Stay tuned for updates.

Comprised of members Joe Varga (bass & vocals), Adam Alex (guitar), Sean Williamson (guitar), and Dan Fila (drums), the veteran band – originally formed in 1989 – has built a large and loyal following of heavy metal fans, particular in their Canadian homeland, on the strength of such popular releases as 1994’s Prototype (released via the Zoo label), which spawned the hits ‘Freeze Don’t Move’ and ‘Greed’, even earning the band a thumbs up on the then-popular Beavis And Butthead program on MTV. After over a decade apart, Varga reunited in 2011 and issued their reunion effort, Enter The Metal,their first new studio album in 17 years.

The album was produced by long time friend and producer/engineer, Julius “Juice” Butty (ALEXISONFIRE, PROTEST THE HERO), and recorded at both Six Nations’ Jukasa Studio, and Butty’s own Silo Studios. As the band’s leader, Joe Varga, states, “In this collection of music, you’ll hear a return to our metal and progressive roots with songs laden with heavy licks, crazy time changes and insane vocals.”